03.03.2022

Transaction Media vs Awareness Media – das große Missverständnis: Warum Retail Media oft noch in der Lower Funnel Ecke verortet wird

Marketingstrategien setzen immer an unterschiedlichen Positionen der Customer Journey an, abhängig von den spezifischen Zielen der Brand. Grundsätzlich sollen potenzielle Kunden bestmöglichst mit Informationen und Inhalten versorgt werden, um einen Kauf abzuschließen. Ein Aspekt dieses Marketings ist Retail Media – eine Möglichkeit, den Kunden mit Kaufabsicht von der eigenen Marke zu überzeugen und zum Kaufabschluss zu bringen. Aber das ist nicht die einzige Funktion von Retail Media: Richtig eingesetzt kann diese Strategie an verschiedenen Punkten in der Customer Journey positive Effekte haben und die Aufmerksamkeit neuer Kunden auf die eigene Marke ziehen. 

 

In diesem Blogbeitrag erklären wir, wie Retail Media auch perfekt für die Brand Awareness genutzt werden kann und welche Vorteile entstehen, wenn eine Plattform wie Douglas.de auch für das Upper Funnel Marketing genutzt wird. Viel Spaß beim Lesen!

Der Unterschied zwischen Transaction Media und Awareness Media

Die beiden Begriffe Transaction Media und Awareness Media setzen an verschiedenen Punkten im Marketing Funnel an und haben unterschiedliche Ziele, die durch die Maßnahmen erreicht werden sollen. 

  • Awareness Media zielt vor allem auf eine Vergrößerung der Kundengruppe ab. Beim Ansprechen der Zielgruppe geht es primär um das Generieren von Markenbekanntheit. Diese Maßnahmen setzen im Upper-Funnel an und sollen die Reichweite vergrößern. 
  • Transactional Media setzt im Gegensatz dazu am Lower-Funnel an, also kurz vor der Conversion. Hier steht der potenzielle Kunde im Fokus, der das Produkt beispielsweise schon im Warenkorb hat. Um den letzten Schritt zum Kauf zu gehen braucht es meist nicht viel, weswegen diese Art des Marketing häufig einen sehr hohen ROAS hat. 

Trotzdem braucht es beide Varianten, um neue Kundengruppen zu erschließen und insgesamt die Markenbekanntheit zu erhöhen. Wer nicht ordentlich daran arbeitet auch den oberen Bereich des “Kauftrichters” zu befüllen, wird im Lower Funnel Probleme haben, Abverkäufe zu generieren.    

Arbeiten mit dem Marketing/Verkaufs-Funnel

Die Nutzung des Funnel-Konzepts für die Visualisierung von Marketing-Maßnahmen ermöglicht eine Festlegung von Zielen einzelner Kampagnen sowie ein besseres Targeting. Mit der Aufteilung in

  • Upper-Funnel (Awareness),
  • Mid-Funnel (Consideration) und
  • Lower-Funnel (Conversion)

ist die Grundstufe dieses Konzepts abgedeckt. Es gibt auch eine Aufteilung in mehrere Stufen, die die einzelnen Bereiche stärker eingrenzt. Mit der Vorstellung eines Marketing-Trichters können verschiedene Kundensituationen besser abgedeckt werden und der Path to purchase besser visualisiert werden. 

Gleichzeitig muss aber auch berücksichtigt werden, dass fast kein Kunde einen linearen Path to purchase durchläuft. Es muss also damit gerechnet werden, dass Kunden zu unterschiedlichen Zeitpunkten in den Funnel kommen und diesen ebenso verlassen können. Trotzdem hilft das Konzept, eine bessere Vorstellung von verschiedenen Kampagnenzielen zu erreichen. 

Was ist Retail Media und wie wird es eingesetzt?

Retail Media ist auf den einzelnen Shopping Plattformen & Marktplätzen angesiedelt. Es hat sich gezeigt, dass die meisten Menschen mit Kaufabsicht direkt auf den Shops nach den Produkten suchen und nicht die etablierten Suchmaschinen nutzen. Retail Media setzt genau auf diesen Kanälen an. Mit Bannerwerbung oder SPA (sponsored product ads) generieren die Marken Aufmerksamkeit bei den potenziellen Kunden und stellen ihre eigenen Produkte ins Rampenlicht. 

Dank der besseren Sichtbarkeit erhöht sich die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass sich die Käufer für ein Produkt der eigenen Marke entscheiden. Gleichzeitig wird der Kauf an sich deutlich vereinfacht, da dieser direkt auf der Website stattfinden kann. Im Gegensatz zu den Google Ads wird keine neue Seite geöffnet, sondern das Produkt kann direkt beim etablierten Händler Douglas bestellt werden. 

Inzwischen zählen Online-Marktplätze zu den wichtigsten Werbeplattformen. Das bedeutet, dass Marketing und Vertrieb dabei Hand in Hand arbeiten müssen, um den Bekanntheitsgrad zu erhöhen und Kunden für die Marke zu gewinnen. 

Retail Media im Lower-Funnel 

Das bewährte Konzept von Retail Media wird im Lower-Funnel angesetzt, da es hier effizient Kunden vom Kauf überzeugt und eine Conversion mit relativ wenig Mitteln erreicht werden kann. Mithilfe von Bannerwerbung und vor allem SPAs werden Kunden mit Kaufabsicht direkt angesprochen. Es geht hier also weniger darum, Aufmerksamkeit zu generieren, sondern der Fokus liegt direkt auf dem Kaufabschluss. 

Mit dieser Strategie ist das Potenzial von Retail Media noch lange nicht ausgeschöpft. Viele Brands setzen mittlerweile auf die Kombination von Upper & Lower Funnel Maßnahmen mit dem Ziel der Brand Awareness oder um weitere Informationen anzubieten, damit der Kunde sich weiter mit der eigenen Marke beschäftigt und die Markenbekanntheit gesteigert wird. 

Retail Media im Upper-Funnel

Auf der Plattform Douglas.de gibt es verschiedene Wege, um Werbung im Upper-Funnel zu nutzen. Awareness Media funktioniert Onsite mit unterschiedlichen Optionen:

  • Ein eigener Markenbereich ermöglicht es den potenziellen Kunden, weitere Informationen zur Marke zu finden und gleichzeitig einen Überblick über die Produktvielfalt zu erhalten. 
  • Zusätzlich unterstützen Banner oder andere Eyecatcher bei der Kaufentscheidung: Sie informieren über Produkte und einzelne Marken, die für die Zielgruppe in Frage kommen. 
  • Dank der großen Menge an Shopper-Daten können die Targeting-Optionen optimal genutzt werden, um die richtige Zielgruppe anzusprechen. 

Zusätzlich können auch Off-Site-Kampagnen genutzt werden, um die Brand Reichweite zu erhöhen und Awareness Media einzusetzen. Hierbei kann von Video, über Display und Social alle Kanäle offsite gebucht werden – mit individuell auf die Marke abgestimmten Zielgruppen, die über die Data Management Plattform segmentiert werden können.

Retail Media bei Douglas

Douglas ist der N°1 Beauty Retailer und dabei zugleich der Experte für Retail Media. Dank der weitreichenden First Party Daten können Produkte und Marken ideal platziert werden. Zudem ist Douglas die Inkarnation des Point-of-Sale, weswegen Performance Media dort perfekt aufgehoben ist. Dank der ausführlichen Daten wird ein gezieltes Marketing ermöglicht und eine große Gruppe an potenziellen Käufern erreicht.

Douglas Marketing Solutions bietet seinen Partnern eine enge Zusammenarbeit und eine persönliche Beratung zu den Marketing-Lösungen. Bei Fragen zu unseren Werbelösungen,wende dich gerne über das Kontaktformular an uns oder schaue dich auf unserem Blogum. In einem persönlichen Gespräch finden wir die optimalen Möglichkeiten für dich und deine Marke. 

Aktuelle Posts

Die Augmented Reality von DOUGLAS – mit dem BEAUTY MIRROR wird Online-Shopping zum wahren Einkaufserlebnis 

In der Make-Up-Welt kann sich das Shoppen im Netz für viele Kunden als schwierig gestalten. Wenn man beispielsweise nicht ganz genau weiß, welches Produkt man in welcher Farbe benötigt, kann es passieren, dass man sich im Ton vergreift. Um dem entgegen zu steuern, hat DOUGLAS den innovativen BEAUTY MIRROR in der App eingeführt: Eine Augmented Reality Anwendung innerhalb der DOUGLAS App, mit der Kunden und Kundinnen Make-Up-Produkte virtuell testen können. Wie DOUGLAS mit diesem Konzept seinen Kundinnen und Kunden im Online-Shop eine Beratung bietet, die sich fast anfühlt wie am Counter im Store und wie damit gleichzeitig die Beauty Mirror Brands profitieren, erfährst du in diesem Blogbeitrag. Viel Spaß beim Lesen!

Behind the Scenes: Lena Marquardt – Team Lead Client Service & Consulting

Lena Marquardt ist Mediaspezialistin mit über 6 Jahren Erfahrungen im Service und Consulting. Dabei betrachtet sie das Geschehen über alle Mediakanäle hinweg mit einem Fokus auf FMCG. Mit ihrer besonderen Freude an Zahlen, Daten und Fakten ist sie eine absolute Spezialistin für verschiedene Analysen. Außerdem kann sie mit einer ganzheitlichen Betrachtung stets die besten Lösungen für unsere Kunden entlang der gesamten Customer Journey identifizieren. Mit ihrem persönlichen Antrieb und ihrer besonderen Vorliebe für Zahlen ist Lena die perfekte Team Lead im Client Service & Consulting.

Behind the Scenes: Louise Termont – Retail Media Managerin

Louise besitzt eine große Leidenschaft für den Einzelhandel, denn sie geht aus einer langen Reihe von Unternehmern in der Luxusbranche hervor. Ihre Kreativität und ihr Ehrgeiz ebneten ihr den Weg zum Online Marketing. Ihre Fähigkeit, aus der Perspektive eines Einzelhändlers zu denken und ihre Leidenschaft für Marketing machen eine Karriere in den Einzelhandelsmedien zur perfekten Lösung. Ihre Liebe zur Kosmetik ist das Tüpfelchen auf dem i! Mit mehr als 6 Jahren Erfahrung in der Kosmetikbranche und 3 Jahren in den Bereichen Medien und Marketing ist Louise die ideale Kandidatin für die Position einer Retail Media Managerin.

Nimm Kontakt mit uns auf

Du möchtest mehr über Douglas Marketing Solutions erfahren? Schreib uns einfach über das Kontaktformular.


Kontaktformular

    Bitte wählen Sie:

    Bei Douglas gelistet:*

    Möchten Sie eine Ad-Solution buchen?*

03.03.2022

Transaction Media vs Awareness Media – the big misunderstanding: Why retail media is often still located in the lower funnel corner

Marketing strategies always start at different positions in the customer journey, depending on the specific goals of the brand. Basically, potential customers should be provided with the best possible information and content in order to complete a purchase. One aspect of this marketing is retail media – a way of convincing customers with the intention to buy of one’s own brand and bringing them to the conclusion of a purchase. But that’s not the only function of retail media: Used correctly, this strategy can have positive effects at various points in the customer journey and attract the attention of new customers to one’s brand. 

 

In this blog post, we explain how retail media can also be used perfectly for brand awareness and what benefits arise when a platform like Douglas.de is also used for upper funnel marketing. Have fun reading!

The difference between transaction media and awareness media

The two terms Transaction Media and Awareness Media start at different points in the marketing funnel and have different goals to be achieved by the measures. 

  • Awareness Media primarily aims to increase the size of the customer group. When addressing the target group, the primary goal is to generate brand awareness. These measures start in the upper funnel and are intended to increase the range. 
  • Transactional media, on the other hand, starts in the lower funnel, i.e. shortly before the conversion. Here, the focus is on the potential customer who, for example, already has the product in his shopping cart. It usually doesn’t take much to take the final step to purchase, which is why this type of marketing often has a very high ROAS. 

Nevertheless, both variants are needed to tap into new customer groups and to increase overall brand awareness. If you don’t work properly to fill the top of the “purchase funnel” as well, you will have trouble generating sales in the lower funnel.    

Working with the Marketing/Sales Funnel

Using the funnel concept to visualize marketing efforts allows for setting goals of individual campaigns as well as better targeting. With the division into

  • Upper-Funnel (Awareness),
  • Mid-Funnel (Consideration) and
  • Lower-Funnel (Conversion)

the basic level of this concept is covered. There is also a split into multiple stages that narrows down each area more. With the notion of a marketing funnel, different customer situations can be better covered and the path to purchase can be better visualized. 

At the same time, however, it must be taken into account that almost no customer goes through a linear path to purchase. It must therefore be expected that customers can enter and leave the funnel at different points in time. Nevertheless, the concept helps to achieve a better idea of different campaign goals. 

What is Retail Media and how is it used?

Retail Media is located on the individual shopping platforms and marketplaces. It has been shown that most people with the intention to buy search for the products directly in the stores and do not use the established search engines. Retail Media focuses precisely on these channels. With banner ads or SPA (sponsored product ads), brands generate attention among potential customers and put their own products in the spotlight. 

Thanks to better visibility, the likelihood that shoppers will opt for a product from their own brand increases. At the same time, the purchase itself is significantly simplified, as it can take place directly on the website. Unlike Google Ads, no new page is opened, but the product can be ordered directly from the established retailer Douglas. 

Online marketplaces are now among the most important advertising platforms. This means that marketing and sales have to work hand in hand here to raise awareness and win customers for the brand. 

Retail Media in the Lower-Funnel 

The tried-and-tested concept of retail media is applied in the lower funnel, as it is here that customers can be efficiently convinced to buy and a conversion can be achieved with relatively few resources. With the help of banner ads and especially SPAs, customers with the intention to buy are addressed directly. The focus here is therefore less on generating attention and more directly on concluding a purchase. 

With this strategy, the potential of retail media is far from exhausted. Many brands now rely on a combination of upper and lower funnel measures with the aim of increasing brand awareness or offering further information so that the customer continues to engage with their own brand and brand awareness is increased. 

Retail media in the upper funnel

On the Douglas.de platform, there are various ways to use advertising in the upper funnel. Awareness Media works onsite with different options:

  • A dedicated brand area allows potential customers to find more information about the brand and at the same time get an overview of the product variety. 
  • In addition, banners or other eye-catchers support the purchase decision: They provide information about products and individual brands that are suitable for the target group. 
  • Thanks to the large amount of shopper data, targeting options can be used optimally to address the right target group. 

In addition, offsite campaigns can also be used to increase brand reach and employ awareness media. Here, all channels from video to display and social can be booked offsite – with target groups individually tailored to the brand, which can be segmented via the data management platform.

Retail Media at Douglas

Douglas is the N°1 beauty retailer and at the same time the expert for retail media. Thanks to the extensive first-party data, products and brands can be ideally placed. Moreover, Douglas is the incarnation of the point-of-sale, which is why Performance Media is in perfect hands there. Thanks to the detailed data, targeted marketing is made possible and a large group of potential buyers is reached.

Douglas Marketing Solutions offers its partners close cooperation and personal advice on marketing solutions. If you have any questions about our advertising solutions, feel free to contact us via the contact form or take a look at our blog. In a personal conversation, we will find the optimal options for you and your brand! 

Latests Posts

Success for your brand with Mail Hashing – DOUGLAS MARKETING SOLUTIONS

The email address is the ultimate gateway to our multimedia lives and most people keep their personal email addresses forever. Therefore, it stands to reason that many see the email address as the key to the future of digital marketing and advertising. It can identify target audiences across devices, channels and platforms and is inherently personal. Mail hashing makes it possible to reach target groups in a privacy-safe way that is highly customized and personalized. Find out exactly what mail hashing is, how it works and how it can benefit your brand in this DOUGLAS blog post. Have fun reading!

Behind The Scenes: Abhijeet Rao – AdTech Architect & Process Manager

Programmatic advertising, ad operations and tech integration - this is just Abhijeet's language. He is an engineer with a digital mindset and passion for advertising technology and automation tools. With years of experience in the technical and programmatic fields, Abhijeet develops data-driven solutions that are designed to help you and your beauty brand achieve your goals.

Cookieless World – what the end of third party cookies means for DMS and how we can still remain successful

Known and feared in the advertising industry: the shutdown of third-party cookies. In 2022, the corporate giant Google wanted to discontinue third-party cookies in the Chrome browser. Last summer, however, this deadline was extended to 2023. And now the corporation is postponing the end of third-party cookies by another year to 2024. In this blog post, you'll learn everything you need to know about the elimination of third party cookies and how DMS has already been driving successful marketing strategies for years now using first party cookies and retail media. Have fun reading!

Contact us

Looking to learn more about Douglas Marketing Solutions? Simply write via the contact form.


Contact Form

    Please select:

    Listed at Douglas:*

    Would you like to book an Ad-Solution?*